Rise of the Guardians – Americana

Unpopular Opinion – Guardian Mythos

So once again, I return to tackle an issue that is sensitive and may incite a shitstorm, though I hope not. (Because I’m not popular enough to rock the foundations of tumblr, I have maybe 10 followers)

General Disclaimer: People who do not have the assorted Guardian Mythos in their childhood, in no way am I attacking your belief system/Religion/Culture. In fact, I probably study it and would like to learn more about it. Ok? here, have this Jack Frost gif I found. He says much better than me.

 

So, Rise of the Guardians. I think most of this fandom agrees it was a pretty good movie right? Excellent. While browsing the tags though, I’ve come across a couple of posts that mention that they (the author) didn’t have Santa Claus/Tooth Fairy/ Easter Bunny/ Sandman as a child, so they didn’t quite mesh with the movie. Now, I’m not going to mention names, because honestly I can’t remember them, but the content sticks out in my head.

The assorted authors mentioned that their childhood figures didn’t make it into the movie. My first thought was ‘No, really? A movie about mostly post-colonial North American folktales didn’t include your particular beliefs? Shocker.’ Then the Critical Literature training kicked in and my second thought was “Huh, I wonder why that is? Why these 5 heroes?”

So I thought about it. Then I thought about it some more. Then a crossover fanfiction idea occurred to me, so I wrote that, and then the answer appeared. And this is my guess:

Dreamworks/William Joyce wasn’t being racist or anything of the sort in choosing these characters. They just form a particular Pantheon of Mythology and including people from outside that Pantheon just did not occur to them.

Now, most of you are probably thinking:

But allow me to explain:

A Pantheon is: the gods of a particular mythology considered collectively.- (dictionaryreference .com) but it can also mean: the place of the heroes or idols of any group,individual, movement, party, etc., or the heroes or idols themselves( – also dictionary.reference.com)   And this is what I tend to think of the Guardians of. A particular group of heroes/stories that all fit together for most North American children. So, people who didn’t connect, it’s not that you were ignored, its that Joyce/ Dreamworks just picked a specific set of mythology to use. It’s something that happens all the time. Recent examples: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, the Kane Chronicles, Runemarks, The Wicked Lovely Series. It would have been odd for this particular group of heroes to include anyone outside their folklore. And believe me- it is interconnected. As to why that is? That’s probably for another post.

And now to escape the fandom before you kill me.

– Artisan_Danni

-imported from my tumblr

Leave a Reply

